I’m counting the days now. The only draw…

I’m counting the days now. The only drawback is in missing Des.  I am always affected by his absence but there is  no way round this lingering sadness.  I won’t return to Dublin for at least 7 weeks. I heard from Lemington yesterday, a tour guide who runs his office at the airport and one of my best friends.  Lemington says that his family are waiting to see me and he wants to know my date of arrival so he could come to say hello. I’ll have an airport pick-up to the hotel but the last time the chauffeur felt ill at the eleventh hour so Lemington had turned up gallantly for my rescue. Of course, that wouldn’t be necessary now. The cost of a taxi to the heart of Dar city would be 13 euro (about 25,000 Tanzanian shilling)  but if you didn’t know any better, the average taxi driver may just wriggle a hefty 65 euro out of you.

