Luggage like books speak a lot for their…

Luggage like books speak a lot for their owners. Oddities in mine and all in a day’s work include paperbacks: Conrad & O’Hanlon’s Congo novels, another O’Hanlon on Borneo, a couple of Theroux’s, one Dalyrmple & The Shadow of Kilimanjaro written by Rick Ridgeway. This is literature I need to absorb in a hurry. Then throw in the mountain boots, sunglasses, torches, sports gloves, woollen caps, jeans, and Bashir in whose motel I stay with in Arusha, is keeping my anorak. Once, I was a fashion journalist in Malaysia/Singapore & I packed tiny glamorous objects for dazzling international assignments. Perfumes, lipsticks, purses and not a tear in my stockings. How destiny has changed its course but solitary adventure on rough terrain and let me press the point – not tourist/vacation travel or group package tours –  is what I do and I love it.

